Ferdous Ara

Ferdous Ara graduated in Food & Nutrition and she obtained Master of Philosophy (MPhil) degree from the Institute of Nutrition & Food Sciences (INFS) under the University of Dhaka in 2012. Presently, she is working as a Sr. Lecturer in Community Nutrition department of Bangladesh University of Health Sciences (BUHS) which is the first Private University in health sector and sponsored by Diabetic Association of Bangladesh. From 2010 to 2013 she served as a Lecturer and from 2009 to 2010 as a Research Fellow in the same department of Bangladesh Institute of Health Sciences (BIHS). She worked as a Research Fellow in Biomedical Research group of BIRDEM from 2007 to 2009. Her research interest includes behavioral issues in health with particular focus on knowledge, attitude and practice regarding noncommunicable diseases (NCDs); complimentary feeding; nutritional adequacy in different types of Bangladeshi diet and metabolic syndrome (MS) in postmenopausal women. She has 04 publications in peer reviewed journals (including one monograph). She has presented her works in a number of regional and international scientific meetings. She also served as the Asst Organizing Secretary of several national and regional Conferences organized by the Diabetic Association of Bangladesh and BIHS.

Visiting & Mailing Address

Department of Community Nutrition
Bangladesh University of Health Sciences
Room No: 0000, 125/1, Darus Salam
Mirpur-1,Dhaka-1216, Bangladesh.
Phone: [880] 2-8055312, 9010654
Fax: [880] 2-8055312
E-mail: info@buhs-edu.org
Web: www.buhs-edu.org


Visiting Hours: 10AM - 4PM

Head of the Department

Prof. Dr. Md Asirul Hoque
Contact No: [880]-2-8035501, Ext. 0000
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Honorary Advisor

Prof. Mammunar Rashid

Faculty Members

Full-Time Faculties

Dr. Md Asirul Hoque
Associate Professor
Farzana Saleh
Assistant Professor
Manika Rani Sarker
Sr. Lecturer
Fadia Afnan
Taslima Khatun
Ferdous Ara

Part-Time Faculties

Prof Khursheed Jahan
Prof Khaleda Islam
Prof Mohiduzzaman
Prof M Ruhul Amin
Dr. TM Alamgir Azad
Dr. Shah Mahfuzur Rahman