Prof. (Dr.) Sk. Akhtar Ahmad

Senior Professor and Reasercher, teaching envronmental and occupational  health more than 30 years.  Field of interest are environmental and occupational health including arsenic contamination, climate change issues and workers health. Organized and conducted a number of research works  in the field of environmental health like arsenic contamination. flouride contamination, salinity in water; air pollution, tobacco smoking, climate change and in the field of occupational health like health problems of the workers, musculskeletal disorders, lead toxicity. noise problem, chromium toxicty. Conducted a number collbortaive research with national and international institutes and organisations. He  supervised and guided many theses of MPH, Mphil and PhD students and has many published articles in the national and international journals with high impact factor. He was involved in many projects  as chief investigator, consultant and expert. He has also working experience with WHO, ILO, DFID, UNEP,  JICA, AAN.

Visiting & Mailing Address

Department of Occupational and Environmental Health
Bangladesh University of Health Sciences
Room No: H-10, 125/1, Darus Salam
Mirpur-1,Dhaka-1216, Bangladesh.
Phone: [880] 2-8035502, Ext.:1319
Fax: [880] 2-8055312


Visiting Hours: 10AM - 4PM

Head of the Department

Dr. M. H. Faruquee
Contact No:[880]-2-8035501, Ext. 1331
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Faculty Members

Honorary/Adjunct Faculties

Honorary Professor
Prof. Chiho Watanabe, PhD
Prof. Tsukasa Inaoka, PhD
Dr. Hugh W Davies, PhD

Dr.Tani Masakazu, PhD
Adjunct Faculty

Dr. A. Q. M. Mahfuzul Haque
Dr. Salamat Khandker PhD
Dr. Saiful Islam MPH (OEH)
Dr. ABM Rafiqul Islam PhD
Dr. Nasreen Khan MPH (OEH)

Full-Time Faculties

Prof. (Dr.) Sk. Akhtar Ahmad
Assistant Professor
Dr. M.H. Faruquee
Dr. Rabeya Yasmin
Shanta Dutta

Part-Time Faculties

Dr. Manzurul Haque Khan PhD
Dr. M.A.Wazed
Dr A.F.M Sarwar MPH (OEH), MPhil